Tag Archives: American Riviera Award

SBIFF American Riviera Awarded to Sam Rockwell

Posted by Larry Gleeson


It was a nice evening on the red carpet last night at the 33rd annual Santa Barbara International Film Festival presented by UGG. Actors and filmmakers walked the carpet before SBIFF honored Sam Rockwell with its 2018 American Riviera Award. The Riviera Award is presented to recognize actors who have made a significant contribution to American Cinema. Rockwell was fêted with a Tribute celebrating his remarkable performance in Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri.

While Rockwell is known for creating memorable and iconic character actors, his craft is evolving evidenced by the complexity of his recent work as Officer Dixon in Martin McDonagh’s Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri. For his role, Rockwell has garnered a Golden Globe, a SAG Award and is a leading contender for this year’s Oscar from the Academy of Motion Pictures and Arts in the Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role category.

Sam and Krista-1
Left, actor Sam Rockwell, ad libs a response to Krista Smith, right, Vanity Fair’s West Coast Editor, question for at the 2018 Santa Barbara International Film Festival’s American Riviera Award at the historic Arlington in Santa Barbara, Calif., presented by UGG. (Photo Credit: Larry Gleeson/HollywoodGlee)

For the first time ever at SBIFF Vanity Fair West Coast Editor, Krista Smith, moderated. Smith was introduced by SBIFF Board President Lynda Weinman and Smith wasted little time getting to the goods opening her SBIFF moderating debut with a montage of Rockwell’s work set to a rock-n-roll classic tune from Queen, “Don’t Stop Me Now.” We were having a good time as Smith playfully led Rockwell down memory lane to his first acting experiences at the age of ten with his actress mother and up to his present roles. To his credit Mr. Rockwell has been in over 60 films to date and shows little sign of slowing down. Rockwell friend, and fellow actor, Clark Gregg, presented the 2018 SBIFF American Riviera Award.

Vanity Fair West Coast Editor, Krista Smith, left, the 2018 Santa Barbara International Film Festival’s American Riviera Award recipient, Sam Rockwell, center, and actor Clark Gregg, right, on stage at the historic Arlington Theatre in Santa Barbara, Calif., February 7th, 2018. (Photo credit: Larry Gleeson/HollywoodGlee)


#SBIFF American Riviera Award 2017

Posted by Larry Gleeson

Jeff Bridges will be honored with SBIFF’s 2017 American Riviera Award on Thursday, February 9, 2017 at the historic Arlington Theatre. Bridges will be fêted with a Tribute, moderated by Scott Feinberg, celebrating his illustrious career, culminating with his captivating performance in David Mackenzie’s Hell or High Water, a CBS Films release. The film opened in August to critical acclaim.


American Riviera Award
honoring Jeff Bridges

Moderated by Scott Feinberg
Thursday, February 9, 2017 @ 8:00pm
Arlington Theatre

Click here for tickets

For his role in Hell or High Water, Bridges has received Golden Globe and Screen Actors Guild Award nominations for Best Supporting Actor, as well as the National Board of Review Award for Best Supporting Actor. Bridges’ renowned career includes celebrated roles in films such as The Big Lebowski, Fearless, The Contender, The Mirror Has Two Faces, The Fabulous Baker Boys, The Door in the Floor, True Grit, Starman, The Morning After, Jagged Edge, The Last Picture Show, Against All Odds, Thunderbolt and Lightfoot, The Fisher King, Seabiscuit, and Crazy Heart (for which he won the Academy Award for Best Actor).

11162014-Roger-Durling_t479“Jeff Bridges shows us in Hell or High Water that an already great artist can continue his growth.  I may go as far as saying that this is his best performance,” stated SBIFF Executive Director Roger Durling. “It’s truly special to be able to celebrate Jeff – for he’s not only a dear friend of SBIFF – but he is a timeless legend in our industry.”

The American Riviera Award was established to recognize actors who have made a significant contribution to American Cinema. Bridges will join a prestigious group of past recipients, including last year’s honorees Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams, and Mark Ruffalo (2016), Patricia Arquette and Ethan Hawke (2015), Robert Redford (2014), Quentin Tarantino (2013) and Martin Scorsese (2012), Annette Bening (2011), Sandra Bullock (2010), Mickey Rourke (2009), Tommy Lee Jones (2008), Forrest Whitaker (2007), Philip Seymour Hoffman (2006), Kevin Bacon (2005) and Diane Lane (2004).

(Source: sbiff.org)