Moonlight Shines at 42nd LAFCA Awards

The results are in from the 42nd Annual Los Angeles Film Critics Association’s Film Awards.

Scene from Barry Jenkins’ Moonlight. Director Jenkins won the Los Angeles Film Critics Award for Best Director while Moonlight captured Best Film.

Top honors for Best Picture and Best Director belong to Moonlight and Barry Jenkins. Moonlight also garnered Best Cinematography. Damien Chazelle took home runner up in both Best Picture and Best Director categories with his musical La La Land while his talented musical counterpart, Justin Hurwitz, landed Best Musical Score for his well-noted La La Land contribution. Park Chan-Wook pulled in the Best Foreign Film as well as Best Production Design for his exquisite, erotic thriller, The Handmaiden.

Scene from Park Chan-Wook’s The Handmaiden, winner of the Los Angeles Film Critics Association’s Best Foreign Film and Best Production Design Awards.

Here is a full list of winners:

Best Picture

WINNER: Moonlight

Best Director

WINNER: Barry Jenkins – Moonlight
RUNNER-UP: Damien Chazelle – La La Land

Best Actor

WINNER: Adam Driver – Paterson
RUNNER-UP: Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea

Best Actress

WINNER: Isabelle Huppert – Elle
RUNNER-UP: Rebecca Hall – Christine

Best Supporting Actor

WINNER: Mahershala Ali – Moonlight
RUNNER-UP: Issy Ogata – Silence

Best Supporting Actress

WINNER: Lily Gladstone – Certain Women
RUNNER-UP: Michelle Williams – Manchester by the Sea

Best Animation

WINNER: Your Name.
RUNNER-UP: The Red Turtle

Best Foreign Language Film

WINNER: The Handmaiden
RUNNER-UP: Toni Erdmann

Best Documentary

WINNER: I Am Not Your Negro
RUNNER-UP: OJ: Made in America

Best Screenplay

WINNER: Efthymis Filippou and Yorgos Lanthimos – The Lobster
RUNNER-UP: Kenneth Lonergan – Manchester by the Sea

Best Editing

WINNER: Bret Granato, Maya Mumma, Ben Sozanski – OJ: Made in America
RUNNER-UP: Tom Cross – La La Land

Best Production Design

WINNER: Ryu Seong-hee – The Handmaiden
RUNNER-UP: David Wasco – La La Land

Best Music Score

WINNER: Justin Hurwitz – La La Land
RUNNER-UP: Mica Levi – Jackie

Best Cinematography

WINNER: James Laxton – Moonlight
RUNNER-UP: Linus Sandgren – La La Land

New Generation Award

WINNER: Trey Edward Shults and Krisha Fairchild – Krisha


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.