Tag Archives: Executive

After The Reality Opens 2016 #nbff

The 2016 Newport Beach Film Festival opened for its 17th edition with the quasi-family drama, After The Reality, to a six-screen, sold-out crowd at the Edwards Big Six in Newport Beach California. Movie-goers anxiously waited in a line that extended out onto the sidewalk of Newport Center Drive.

IMG_5231 (1)
Stella Artois Official Newport Beach Film Festival Sponsors, Mark and Ann Danner, outside the Regal Entertainment Group’s Edwards Big Six & RPX movie cineplex in Newport Beach, Calif., at the 17th Annual Newport Beach film Festival’s Opening Night, April 21, 2016. (Photo credit: Larry Gleeson/HollywoodGlee)

At approximately 7:47 P.M. the cinephiles in Theater Six were welcomed to the festival by Newport Beach Film Festival Founder and Executive Director Greg Schwenk. Schwenk reminisced about the last seventeen years before giving way to Newport Beach Mayor, Diane Dixon. Dixon, decked out in a striking red outfit stressed the vital role the festival has come to play in the airy Newport Beach community  and predicted it will continue to grow in stature as a major lifestyle film festival with its already present world-class appeal. While not downplaying the opening film, Dixon confessed she was already looking forward to seeing Dirty Old Wedge, a popular Newport surfing area with a storied history.

Without any more adieu, the 17th edition of the Newport Beach Film Festival was underway.








Montecito Award honoring Sylvester Stallone #SBIFF


Sylvester Stallone is receiving the prestigious Santa Barbara International Film Festival’s (SBIFF) Montecito Award at the historic Santa Barbara Arlington Theatre on Thursday February 9, 2016 at 8:00 PM. Stallone will be honored for his critically acclaimed and Oscar nominated role in Ryan Coogler’s emotionally contoured boxing film Creed.

The Montecito Award is named after one of the most beautiful and stylish areas in Santa Barbara and is given to a person in the entertainment industry who has made a great contribution to film. Past recipients include Jennifer Aniston, Oprah Winfrey, Daniel Day-Lewis, Geoffrey Rush, Julianne Moore, Kate Winslet, Javier Bardem, Bill Condon, and Naomi Watts. Hennessy Paradis Imperial is presenting the award. Click here for tickets.

SBIFF Executive Director Roger Durling had this to say about this year’s recipient:


“Sylvester Stallone’s performance in Creed has reminded us of what a true talent he is and what a joy it is to share in his successes as the many beloved characters he has created.  Since he first hit the silver screen as Rocky Balboa nearly four decades ago, he has been a force in the industry both on film and behind the scenes.  He is a true legend in our field, and it is our privilege to present him with the Montecito Award, and to continue to honor his legacy.”

Stallone first established worldwide recognition as an actor and filmmaker when he starred in 1976’s “Rocky,” from his own screenplay.  Both a critical and box office hit, the film garnered 10 Academy Award nominations including Stallone for Best Actor and Best Original Screenplay.  Most recently, Stallone received an Academy Award nomination for Best Supporting Actor for “Creed,” becoming only the sixth actor in Academy history to be nominated for playing the same role in two different films.

Stallone’s many film credits include the “Rocky” and “Rambo” films, “Copland,” “Tango & Cash,” “F.I.S.T.,” “Victory” and “Nighthawks.”

In addition to his extensive film career, Stallone is an accomplished artist, completing paintings on canvas as well as sculpture work.  He has had impressive exhibitions at Art Basil, The Russian State Museum and, most recently, at the Nice Museum of Contemporary Art in France.

The festival previously honored Jane Fonda (Youth) with its Kirk Douglas Award for Excellence in Film and will honor Johnny Depp (Black Mass) with the Maltin Modern Master Award; Michael Keaton, Mark Ruffalo and Rachel McAdams (Spotlight) with the American Riviera Award; and Alicia Vikander (The Danish Girl, Ex Machina), Géza Röhrig (Son of Saul), Elizabeth Banks and Paul Dano (Love & Mercy), Joel Edgerton (Black Mass),  O’Shea Jackson Jr. (Straight Outta Compton) and Jacob Tremblay (Room), with its Virtuosos Award.

The Opening night film is Paramount Pictures in conjunction with On Animation Studio’s U.S. premiere of  “The Little Prince”. 

“The Little Prince” is based on Antoine de Saint-Exupery’s classic tale Le Petit Prince. Writers Irena Brignull and Bob Persichetti have created an original narrative interfused with elements of the novel.