Outstanding Directors Announced for #SBIFF 2016


In Santa Barbara, California, on Thursday, February 11, 2016 five Oscar-nominated directors will receive the Santa Barbara International Film Festival’s (SBIFF) 2016 Outstanding Directors of the Year award.: Lenny Abrahamson, ROOM; Alejandro G. Iñárritu,THE REVENANT; Tom McCarthy, SPOTLIGHT; Adam McKay, THE BIG SHORT; and George Miller, MAD MAX: FURY ROAD.  They will each be celebrated individually for their films. The individual honors will be followed by a joint conversation between the directors about their craft and on the landscape of modern day filmmaking. The ceremony will take place at the historic Arlington Theatre. The evening is sponsored by The Hollywood Reporter. Click here for passes, ticket sales and/or more information.



The Outstanding Directors of the Year award is given to directors not afraid to explore boundaries and push the envelope in the cinematic world.  They have a vision for the picture they want to present and then do so, with an expertise that happens to be both gracious and bold. Past recipients include Damien Chazelle (WHIPLASH), Richard Linklater (BOYHOOD), Bennett Miller (FOXCATCHER), Laura Poitras (CITIZENFOUR), Morten Tyldum (THE IMITATION GAME), David O. Russell (AMERICAN HUSTLE), Kathryn Bigelow (THE HURT LOCKER), and Danny Boyle (SLUMDOG MILLIONAIRE).



SBIFF Executive Director Roger Durling says, “These directors have each made their mark on the film canon and have solidified their standing as some of the best directors of our time. The fact that these films come on the heels of already illustrious and established careers makes this honor even more special.”

“The Directors Panel” completes this year’s panel line-up. SBIFF has become renowned for creating smart, insightful panels that feature a “who’s who” in the world of filmmaking, including many Oscar® contenders. The Panels are highly informative with wonderful interaction. Here’s an overview of the SBIFF 2016 panels:

The panel series begins on Saturday, February 6th with the “Movers and Shakers,” (Producers Panel), bringing together the industry’s most prolific producers to talk about current projects, hopes for the future of filmmaking, and insights into the creative process. Moderated by Los Angeles Times film writer Glenn Whipp.

That same day proceeds with “It Starts With the Script” (Screenwriters Panel), bringing together top writers to discuss their craft. The panel will be moderated by indieWIRE’s Anne Thompson.

On Saturday February 13, with Creative Forces: Women in the Business(Women’s Panel), moderated by Madelyn Hammond, President, Madelyn Hammond & Assoc., and Former Chief Marketing Officer for Variety. The Women’s Panel is sponsored by Brooks Institute.

For more information on tickets, passes and packages click here.

All panels take place at the Lobero Theatre, located at 33 E Canon Perdido St., in Santa Barbara.



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.