SBIFF Adds Second Group To 2016 Virtuosos

              Santa Barbara International Film Festival (SBIFF) just announced Alicia Vikander, O’Shea Jackson, Jr. and Geza Rohrig as the second group of recipients for its 2016  Virtuoso Award. The Viruoso Award recognizes performers who have distinguished themselves through their film performances in the past year. Vikander has had a sizzling year with searing roles in the sci-fi thriller “Ex Machina,” the coming-of-age “Testament of Youth,” and in the groundbreaking transgender saga “The Danish Girl.”  O’Shea Jackson, Jr. is receiving accolades for his work in “Straight Outta Compton,”  while Geza Rohrig is being honored for his work in “Son of Saul.”

            In addition to the recently announced second group, SBIFF had previously announced Elizabeth Banks (“Love & Mercy,” ) Joel Edgerton (“Black Mass,” ), Paul Dano (“Love & Mercy,” & “Youth,” ) and Jacob Tremblay (“Room” ) would be honored for their respective work. Past recipients of the award include Ellar Coltrane, Rosamund Pike, Jared Leto, David Oyelowo, Eddie Redmayne, Rooney Mara, Brie Larson and Marion Cotillard. The award presentation is scheduled for February 6th, 2016, 8 PM, at the historic Arlington Theater in Santa Barbara.This year’s talented and diverse and talented honorees are being recognized for their overall career as well as their breakout year.

Festival Executive Director, Roger Durling, says, ““These performers have used their craft and respective roles to transport us through the varied lives of their characters. We have followed them along their artistic pursuits and are excited to join them in next steps of their journeys.”

 Click here for more information and for tickets

alicia-vikander-759(Alicia Vikander)

O'SheaJackson(O’Shea Jackson, Jr.)

GezaRohrig(Geza Rohrig )

elizabeth-banks-movies-wallpaper-1(Elizabeth Banks)


(Joel Edgerton)


(Paul Dano)

Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 9.56.23 PM(Jacob Tremblay with J.J. Abrams)

            If air travel is required, Alaska Airlines, the official airline for the 31st Santa Barbara International Film Festival, is offering 10% discounts on airfare between Santa Barbara, Los Angeles or Burbank, California and any of Alaska Airlines departure cities (excluding Hawaii, Mexico, Costa Rica and Prudhoe Bay) from February 2nd through February 16th, 2016. Book by February 16, 2016.  Click here. Discounts are automatically applied. Restrictions apply. See site for details.

One thought on “SBIFF Adds Second Group To 2016 Virtuosos”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.