

#SBIFF American Riviera Award 2017

Description

Posted by Larry Gleeson

Jeff Bridges will be honored with SBIFF's 2017 American Riviera Award on Thursday, February 9, 2017 at the historic Arlington Theatre. Bridges will be fêted with a Tribute, moderated by Scott Feinberg, celebrating his illustrious career, culminating with his captivating performance in David Mackenzie's *Hell or High Water*, a CBS Films release. The film opened in August to critical acclaim.



American Riviera Award honoring Jeff Bridges Moderated by Scott Feinberg Thursday, February 9, 2017 @ 8:00pm Arlington Theatre

Click here for tickets

For his role in *Hell or High Water*, Bridges has received Golden Globe and Screen Actors Guild Award nominations for Best Supporting Actor, as well as the National Board of Review Award for Best Supporting Actor. Bridges' renowned career includes celebrated roles in films such as *The Big Lebowski*, *Fearless, The Contender, The Mirror Has Two Faces, The Fabulous Baker Boys, The Door in the Floor, True Grit, Starman, The Morning After, Jagged Edge, The Last Picture Show, Against All Odds Thurderbolt and Lightfoot. The Fisher King, Sophisquit, and Crazy Heart (for which he won the*



"Jeff Bridges

shows us in *Hell or High Water* that an already great artist can continue his growth. I may go as far as saying that this is his best performance," stated SBIFF Executive Director Roger Durling. "It's truly special to be able to celebrate Jeff – for he's not only a dear friend of SBIFF – but he is a timeless legend in our industry."

The American Riviera Award was established to recognize actors who have made a significant contribution to American Cinema. Bridges will join a prestigious group of past recipients, including last year's honorees Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams, and Mark Ruffalo (2016), Patricia Arquette and Ethan Hawke (2015), Robert Redford (2014), Quentin Tarantino (2013) and Martin Scorsese (2012), Annette Bening (2011), Sandra Bullock (2010), Mickey Rourke (2009), Tommy Lee Jones (2008), Forrest Whitaker (2007), Philip Seymour Hoffman (2006), Kevin Bacon (2005) and Diane Lane (2004).

(Source: sbiff.org)

Category

- 1. #SBIFF
- 2. Santa Barbara International Film Festival

Tags

- 1. American Riviera Award
- 2. Arlington Theatre
- 3. CBS Films
- 4. David Mackenzie
- 5. Film
- 6. Film Festival
- 7. Filmmaking
- 8. Hell or High Water
- 9. Jeff Bridges
- 10. Larry Gleeson
- 11. Santa Barbara International Film Festival
- 12. SBIFF American Riviera Award
- 13. SBIFF's 2017 American Riviera Award

Date Created

December 21, 2016

Author

hollywoodglee