

Variety Artisan Awards at SBIFF

Description

Posted by Larry Gleeson

VARIETY ARTISANS AWARD

HONORING ALESSANDRO BERTOLAZZI, JESS GONCHOR, JUSTIN HURWITZ, JAMES LAXTON, ROBERT LEGATO, ALAN MURRAY, KEVIN O'CONNELL, JOE WALKER, AND MARY ZEPHERS

MONDAY, FEBRUARY 6, 2017 LOBERO THEATRE 8:00PM

Click Here To Attend

The third annual Santa Barbara International Film Festival (SBIFF) Variety Artisans Awards celebrates those essential to the filmmaking process and who have exhibited the most exciting and innovative work of the year in their respective fields. The Tribute evening will take place on Monday, February 6th, at the Lobero Theatre and will be moderated by Variety's Sr. VP Awards Editor, Tim Gray.

The Variety Artisans Award will be presented to the following 2017 Oscar nominees:

Alessandro Bertolazzi for Makeup and Hair for the Warner Brothers film "Suicide Squad," directed by David Ayer. This marks Alessandro's first Academy Award nomination. His previous credits include "Skyfall, "Biutiful," and "Babel."

Jess Gonchor, for Production Design in the Universal Pictures film "Hail, Caesar!" directed by Joel and Ethan Coen. Gonchor was previously nominated for an Academy Award for his work on "True Grit" which was nominated for a total of 10 Academy Awards. Gonchor has worked with the Coen Brothers

on each of their films since "No Country For Old Men".

Justin Hurwitz, for original score in the Lionsgate musical "La La Land" directed by Damien Chazelle. Justin received both the Golden Globe and Critic's Choice Award for Best Original Score for the film. He is a first time Oscar nominee this year.

Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek & Justin Paul for Original Song City of Stars in the Lionsgate musical "La La Land". The song received both the Golden Globe and Critic's Choice Award for Best Original Song this year.

James Laxton for Cinematographer in A24's "Moonlight" directed by Barry Jenkins. James won the Los Angeles Film Critics, New York Film Critics, and San Francisco Film Critics award for Best Cinematography for his work on the film.

Robert Legato for Visual Effects in the Disney live-action film "The Jungle Book," directed by Jon Favreau. Legato has won two Academy Awards (and has been nominated a total of four times) for his work on "Titanic" and "Hugo."

Alan Murray for Sound Editing in the Warner Brothers film "Sully," directed by Clint Eastwood. He has been nominated for eight Academy Awards and won for his work on Eastwood's films, "American Sniper" and "Letters from Iwo Jima."

Kevin O'Connell for Sound Mixing in the Lionsgate Film "Hacksaw Ridge" directed by Mel Gibson. This is his 21st Academy Award nomination for films that include "Top Gun" and "Transformers."

Joe Walker for Editor in the Paramount Film "Arrival" directed Denis Villeneuve for which he is nominated for an Oscar®. He was nominated for an Academy Award for his work on "12 Years A Slave". "Arrival" marks his second collaboration with Villeneuve following last year's critically-acclaimed "Sicario." He is currently working with Villeneuve on the upcoming "Bladerunner."

Mary Zophres for Costume Designer in the Lionsgate film "La La Land" directed by Damien Chazelle. She was nominated for an Academy Award for her work in the Coen Brother's Film "True Grit". In 2016, Mary received the Key West Film Festival's Career Achievement Award for costume design.

(Source: sbiff.org)

Category

- 1. #SBIFF
- 2. Santa Barbara International Film Festival
- 3. Venice International Film Festival

Tags

- 1. Art
- 2. Cinema
- 3. Competition
- 4. Conversation

- 5. creativity
- 6. entertainment
- 7. Film
- 8. Film Festival
- 9. Filmmaking
- 10. inspiration
- 11. Larry Gleeson
- 12. marketing
- 13. Media
- 14. News
- 15. platform
- 16. Programming
- 17. Society
- 18. Women
- 19. writing

Date Created

February 3, 2017

Author

hollywoodglee