

SBIFF ANNOUNCES ALL 8 VIRTUOSOS AWARD HONOREES

Description

Posted by Larry Gleeson

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival announced the second wave of recipients to receive the Virtuosos Award presented by UGG®, an honor created to recognize a select group of talent whose noteworthy performances in film have elevated them into the national cinematic dialogue. **Cynthia Erivo** (*Harriet*), **Beanie Feldstein** (*Booksmart*), **Aldis Hodge** (*Clemency*), and **George MacKay** (*1917*) will be joining **Awkwafina** (*The Farewell*), **Taron Egerton** (*Rocketman*), **Florence Pugh** (*Midsommar*), and **Taylor Russell** (*Waves*) in receiving the award on Saturday, January 18th during the 35th Santa Barbara International Film Festival. The tribute will be moderated for the tenth year by Turner Classic Movies host and IMDb special correspondent host Dave Karger.



Dave Karger

"The final four Virtuosos range from comedies to dramas, from the US to the UK, and from lead to

supporting roles. But what they all have in common is that they shined in their respective films this year. They're perfect additions to this exciting evening in Santa Barbara." says Dave Karger, Turner Classic Movies host and IMDb special correspondent.

Past recipients include Yalitza Aparicio, Sam Elliott, Elsie Fisher, Claire Foy, Richard E. Grant, Thomasin McKenzie, John David Washington, Steven Yeun, Alicia Vikander, Joel Edgerton, Elizabeth Banks, Paul Dano, O'Shea Jackson Jr., Géza Röhrig, Jacob Tremblay, Chadwick Boseman, Ellar Coltrane, Logan Lerman, David Oyelowo, Rosamund Pike, J.K. Simmons, Jenny Slate, Ann Dowd, Elle Fanning, Ezra Miller, Eddie Redmayne, Omar Sy, Quvenzhane Wallis, Demian Bichir, Rooney Mara, Melissa McCarthy, Shailene Woodley, Andy Serkis, Patton Oswalt, Andrew Garfield, John Hawkes, Lesley Manville, Hailee Steinfeld, Jacki Weaver, Emily Blunt, Carey Mulligan, Saoirse Ronan, Gabourey Sidibe, Michael Stuhlbarg, Casey Affleck, Marion Cotillard, Viola Davis, Rosemarie DeWitt, Sally Hawkins, Richard Jenkins, Melissa Leo, James McAvoy, Ellen Page, Amy Ryan, Michael Shannon, Michael B. Jordan, Brie Larson, Jared Leto, and June Squibb.

The 35th Santa Barbara International Film Festival will take place January 15th through 25th, 2020. <u>Tickets are available here.</u>

About the Santa Barbara International Film Festival

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival (SBIFF) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit arts and educational organization dedicated to discovering and showcasing the best in independent and international cinema. Over the past 34 years, SBIFF has become one of the leading film festivals in the United States – attracting 95,000 attendees and offering 11 days of 200+ films, tributes and symposiums, fulfilling their mission to engage, enrich, and inspire the Santa Barbara community through film.

SBIFF continues its commitment to education and the community throughout many free educational programs and events. In 2016, SBIFF entered a new era with the acquisition of the historic and beloved Riviera Theatre. After a capital campaign and renovation, the theatre is now SBIFF's new state-of-the-art, year-round home, showing new international and independent films every day. In 2019, SBIFF opened its own Education Center in downtown Santa Barbara on State Street to serve as a home for its many educational programs and a place for creativity and learning.



(Source: SBIFF news announcement)

Category

- 1. #SBIFF
- 2. Santa Barbara International Film Festival
- 3. SBIFF Virtuosos

Date Created December 18, 2019 Author hollywoodglee