

Maltin Modern Master Award honoring Brad Pitt at Santa Barbara #SBIFF

Description

Posted by Larry Gleeson

Santa Barbara International Film Festival (SBIFF), a Phase Two (the short span of days between Oscar nominations and the actual voting of the Academy members) campaign stop for talent to be seen and to be heard, announced that Brad Pitt is set to receive the prestigious Maltin Modern Master Award. This event will sell out. Tickets are still available here.

Pitt will be honored on Wednesday, January 22nd for his long-standing contributions to the film industry, most recently gracing the silver screen in Quentin Tarantino's *Once Upon a Time ... in Hollywood* from Columbia Pictures and *Ad Astra* for New Regency. Leonard Maltin will return for his 29th year to moderate the evening.



Leonard Maltin

"Brad Pitt wears the mantle of Movie Star with good grace. He's been giving great performances for several decades, but he makes it look so easy that I fear he's

been taken for granted. After the one-two punch of *Ad Astra* and *Once Upon a Time...in Hollywood,* this year he's an ideal choice to be presented the Maltin Modern Master Award," states Leonard Maltin.

Quentin Tarantino's *Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood* visits 1969 Los Angeles, where everything is changing, as TV star Rick Dalton (Leonardo DiCaprio) and his longtime stunt double Cliff Booth (Brad Pitt) make their way around an industry they hardly recognize anymore. The ninth film from the writer-director features a large ensemble cast and multiple storylines in a tribute to the final moments of Hollywood's golden age.

When a mysterious life-threatening event strikes Earth, astronaut Roy McBride (Pitt) goes on a dangerous mission across an unforgiving solar system to uncover the truth about his missing father (Tommy Lee Jones) and his doomed expedition that now, 30 years later, threatens the universe, in James Gray's *Ad Astra*.

The Modern Master Award was established in 1995 and is the highest accolade presented by SBIFF. Created to honor an individual who has enriched our culture through accomplishments in the motion picture industry, it was re-named the Maltin Modern Master Award in 2015 in honor of long-time SBIFF moderator and renowned film critic Leonard Maltin. Past recipients include Glenn Close, Denzel Washington, Michael Keaton, Bruce Dern, Ben Affleck, Christopher Plummer, Christopher Nolan, James Cameron, Clint Eastwood, Cate Blanchett, Will Smith, George Clooney and Peter Jackson.



(Source:SBIFF News Announcement)

Category

- 1. #SBIFF
- 2. Maltin Award

3. Santa Barbara International Film Festival

Date Created
December 16, 2019
Author
hollywoodglee