Palm Springs Film Fest Appoints Michael Lerman as Artistic Director


The Palm Springs International Film Festival (PSIFF) has announced the hiring of Michael Lerman as Artistic Director.  Currently, Lerman serves as Acting Head of Programming and Primetime Programmer for the Toronto Film Festival, which concludes its 11-day run on September 18, as well as the Artistic Director for the Philadelphia Film Society, where he has worked since 2005.

Lerman will oversee all artistic decisions for the 28th annual Palm Springs International Film Festival that runs from January 2-16, 2017.

“Michael Lerman is a young but very seasoned film festival veteran who brings a keen eye for identifying and curating remarkable films and filmmaker talent. He is an exemplary match for the Palm Springs International Film Festival,” said Festival Chairman Harold Matzner. “We were very impressed with his programming work at the Toronto International Film Festival and are honored to have him join our Palm Springs team.”

About The Palm Springs International Film Festival
The 28th Annual Palm Springs International Film Festival (PSIFF), will hold its Film Awards Gala at the Palm Springs Convention Center on Monday, January 2, 2017 hosted by Mary Hart.  Considered an important stop on the Oscar campaign trail, the Film Awards Gala honors individuals in the film industry with awards for acting, directing and lifetime achievement.  Honorees will be presented with either the John Kennedy “The Entertainer” statue or a Chihuly Glass Sculpture.   In the past 4 years, 40 of the 44 honorees have been nominated for the Academy Awards.  Amazingly, all honorees have attended for the past 14 years. The Palm Springs International Film Festival (PSIFF) is one of the largest film festivals in North America, welcoming 135,000 attendees last year for its lineup of new and celebrated international features and documentaries.

For more information, call 760-322-2930 or 800-898-7256 or visit

Steven Wilson
B|W|R Public Relations

David Lee
Palm Springs International Film Society